Rich Caviar Eye Palette | Bobbi Brown Holiday 2012

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette
Source: bobbibrowncosmetics.com via Emilie on Pinterest

When I was looking at Bobbi Brown’s Holiday 2012 Collection, my eye was drawn to this palette as well as the Nordstrom exclusive Extreme Party Eye Palette. I really love my neutrals but I feel that I need to add some jewel tones, some sparkly shades to my makeup wardrobe. I’m thinking the Rich Caviar Eye Palette would be a great addition. Let’s see shall we?

According to Nordstrom…

With six mix-and-match shades, the Rich Caviar eye palette truly strikes it rich. Featuring everything you need to take eyes from day to night including Bobbi’s beloved base shadow in Bone and the palette’s namesake shade in Rich Caviar. Complementary colors include metallic and sparkle textures, perfect for building intensity. A Mini Dual-Ended Shadow and Liner Brush completes the set – all it needs now is a bow.

Packaging

It is definitely holidays over at Bobbi Brown. Packaging included. The usual sleek shiny black packaging is gone. Welcome shiny festive pearls. I love it! Looks so happy. Isn’t it?

Bobbi-Brown-Holiday-2012-Rich-Caviar-Eye-Palette-IMG_3956

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette
(click to enlarge)

Even the palette is slightly different. Instead of the usual brand name stamped, now there’s a round crest stamped. Very regal looking.

Bobbi-Brown-Holiday-2012-Rich-Caviar-Eye-Palette-IMG_3958

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette

Bobbi-Brown-Holiday-2012-Rich-Caviar-Eye-Palette-IMG_3959

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette

Color and Texture

This palette has a good mixture of satiny matte, metallic and sparkle eyeshadows. You can create a variety of day looks as well as cocktails to extreme party looks. Bone and Rich Caviar, like most mattes, are a little powdery and a tad bit difficult to achieve an even swatch but when used sparingly to highlight and line the upper lash line are both okay to work with. Rich Caviar takes a little bit of extra effort to blend but it can be done. Wheat is a beautiful shade to blend out harsh lines on my crease. Candle Light Gold, Olive Tree and Black Topaz are all easy to work with and can be applied sheer or can be layered for a more intense look.

Bobbi-Brown-Holiday-2012-Rich-Caviar-Eye-Palette-IMG_3960

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette

Bobbi-Brown-Holiday-2012-Rich-Caviar-Eye-Palette-IMG_3962

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette

richcaviareyepalette

photo from bobbibrown.com

Swatch

I swatched heavily using sponge tip applicators. I took pictures indoors in natural daylight so the colors don’t appear washed out. I also try to manipulate exposure so I get the same colors on the camera screen as well as on my arm.

Bobbi-Brown-Holiday-2012-Rich-Caviar-Eye-Palette-IMG_3963

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette
from left to right: Bone, Candle Light Gold Metallic, Wheat, Olive Tree Sparkle, Black Topaz Metallic and Rich Caviar

FOTD

I had my makeup done when I attended a book signing for Bobbi Brown’s latest literary offering, Pretty Powerful. The artist used Long Wear Cream Shadow in Stone as base. Black Topaz Metallic Shadow on the lid layered with Olive Tree Sparkle Shadow. Black Ink Gel Liner at the lash line and coat lashes with Extreme Party Mascara. Pink Rose Blush on the cheeks and Rose Petal Creamy Lip Color on the lips.

10.09.2012-Bobbi-Brown-Rich-Caviar-IMG_4114-cropped

Bobbi Brown Rich Caviar Eye Palette

Availability

It is now available at Macy’s, Nordstrom and at Bobbi Brown online for $47. I got mine at Macy’s.

xo, Emilie

Leave a comment